Skip to main content

Small Communities Environmental Compliance Assistance Program


Small Communities Environmental Compliance Assistance Program

Posted on: Jan. 29, 2024 - 7:00 a.m.

ADEQ is working with cities, towns, and special districts with limited resources and populations of 10,000 or less to help them comply with environmental laws. ADEQ’s voluntary Small Communities Environmental Compliance Assistance Program offers resources for maintaining and documenting compliance efforts.

Program Benefits

Participating communities with a complete Small Community Environmental Protection Plan (SCEPP) and demonstrated compliance with applicable environmental laws may qualify for up to 100 percent penalty reduction* from ADEQ for environmental violations that may occur. ADEQ offers assistance through templates and guidance materials to train small communities on environmental requirements and help with SCEPP development. 

Other benefits of participation include:

  • Tools to improve operations at less cost
  • Improved employee training
  • Increased community confidence in municipal services
  • Means to attract prospective employees or investors
  • How to Participate in the Program 

Eligible small communities include those that develop policies and procedures to reduce violations and show “good faith commitment” to remaining in compliance with applicable environmental laws, including an internal compliance evaluation, prompt self-reporting, and timely corrective actions.

Participation in the program begins with a written request to ADEQ documenting the community’s good faith commitment. Upon acceptance, participating small communities develop a SCEPP and submit it to ADEQ. ADEQ’s review is to verify that the SCEPP meets the requirements in ADEQ’s Small Community Policy | View Policy >

Is your community already participating?

Not sure if your community is participating see the SCEPP List

Communities participating in the program and developing a SCEPP: 

  • Town of Huachuca City
  • City of St. Johns
  • Town of Snowflake
  • Town of Taylor
  • City of  Winslow

Communities awarded a Certificate of Accreditation for SCEPP 

  • Town of Eagar
  • City of Holbrook
  • City of Show Low
  • Town of Springerville
  • Pinetop-Lakeside Sanitary District
  • Naco Sanitary District

Need Assistance?

Speak with one of ADEQ's Community Liaisons to learn more and how to apply | See Map/Contact Information >

*The 100 percent reduction in penalties is only for possible new environmental violations that may occur following completion of the SCEPP. ADEQ’s Small Community Policy outlines how a smaller reduction in penalties may occur for existing violations.