Skip to main content

Regional and Border Assistance

The Office of Regional and Border Assistance (ORBA) is committed to helping communities across Arizona protect public health and the environment. Our two main focuses are:

  • Assisting the public and regulated community in every region
  • Protecting public health and the environment in border communities

Community Liaisons

To better assist the public and regulated community, ORBA’s Community Liaisons serve six designated regions of Arizona | Contact Us >

The Regions Are:

  • Apache, Navajo and Gila Counties
  • Coconino and Yavapai Counties
  • Maricopa County
  • Mohave, La Paz and Yuma Counties
  • Graham, Greenlee, Cochise and Santa Cruz Counties
  • Pinal and Pima Counties

Which Community Liaison region do you belong to? | View Regions Map >

Environmental Protection at Arizona’s Border

ORBA focuses on cross-border issues that impact Arizona’s environment and citizens. We work in a binational and bicultural setting to promote efforts aimed at improving air quality, waste management and water quality conditions within Arizona’s border communities.

ORBA regularly meets with the Arizona-Mexico Commission (AMC) to develop action plans for projects or activities done in collaboration with the State of Sonora. Progress on action plans are reported to the AMC.

Arizona-Mexico Commission | Learn More >
Arizona Sonora Environmental Strategic Plan | View/Download >

We also work with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) through its U.S./Mexico Border 2020 Program, which includes a regional workgroup addressing environmental issues spanning both sides of the border | Learn More >